SUBSCRIBE
Big Country 10cc (hed) P.E.
catsOnfirePromo-Cats on Fire Myspace Agent: Janina

Since 2004, Cats on fire consists of Mattias Björkas (vocals, acoustic guitar), Ville Hopponen (electric guitar), Kenneth Höglund (bass guitar) and Henry Ojala (drums). Although formed in Vaasa in late 2001, they are currently based in Turku, Finland.

In Finland, metal is the dominant force on the music scene. That might have caused Cats on fire to look elsewhere for appreciation. They’ve played a lot in Sweden, and that’s also where they released their first proper CD ep, Draw in the Reins, on the Gothenburg label Fraction Discs.

Germany and England has also been fruitful territories for them. Hamburg indie label Marsh-marigold released their first full-length record, The Province Complains, in 2007. Since that, they’ve been over to Germany to play three times.

In England, their record was helped by favorable reviews in the music press, most notably the NME (“an indiepop Hallelujah”). They’ve also played London indie night How Does it Feel to Be Loved? twice, as well as shows in Scotland and Ireland.

Last summer, they visited the US for two shows on the New York City Popfest. This February, they will tour Spain before returning to Finland for the March 11th release of their second album.

No shows booked at the moment.

SUBSCRIBE
Big Country 10cc (hed) P.E.
catsOnfirePromo-Cats on Fire Myspace Agent: Janina

Seit 2004 setzt sich Cats On Fire aus den vier Jungs Mattias Björkas (Gesang, Akustikgitarre), Ville Hopponen (elektrische Gitarre), Kenneth Höglund (Bassgitarre) und Henry Ojala (Drums).  Obgleich sich dieses Kombo 2001 in Vaasa gründete, sind sie aktuell in Turku, Finnland, beheimatet.

In Finnland ist immer noch Metal die vorherrschende Musikmacht. Wahrscheinlich haben sich Cats on Fire genau deshalb anderswo für Anerkennung umgesehen. Sie haben viel in Schweden gespielt, wo sie auch ihre erste nennenswerte EP „Draw in the Reins“ über das Göteburger Label Fraction Discs veröffentlicht haben.

Deutschland und England stellten sich also als erfolgreiche Territorien für sie heraus. So veröffentlichte auch das Hamburger Indie Label Marsh-marigold ihr erstes komplettes Album „The Province Complains“ 2007. Seitdem waren sie bereits drei mal in Deutschland, um die hiesigen Clubs zu bespielen.

In England wurde ihre Platte durch gute viel gute Presse gepusht, wobei die NME mit ihrem Zitat „an indiepop Hallelujah“ besonders hervorzuheben ist. So verwundern auch nicht ihre zweimaliges Auftreten bei der London Indie Night „How does it feel to be loved“, so wie viele weitere Shows in Schottland und Irland.

Letzten Sommer besuchten sie die USA für zwei Shows auf dem New York City Popfest. Diesen Februar werden sie in Spanien touren bevor sie zum 11. März hin nach Finnland zurückkehren, um ihr zweites Album zu releasen.

No shows booked at the moment.