Electric Six Big Country The Hellfreaks


Promo – Disco Ensemble Homepage Agent: Michael Schuh

Living in Ulvila (a small town of 12.000 residents in the west coast of Finland, close to the city of Pori), grade school classmates Jussi Ylikoski and Mikko Hakila started playing together at the age of 12. The dynamic duo learned their instruments by playing Metallica and AC/DC songs in Hakila’s parents‘ shed or outdoors. Having incorporated a bass player and a singer, the group played their first live gigs in 1997. After a while, they chose to be called DisCo. The name was born out of tongue-in-cheek idea of people thinking that they’re going to a regular disco but end up at a punk gig.
Digging bands like Refused and Snapcase, DisCo. got to play in the local punk shows, mostly in the cellar of a semi-legendary squat/culture centre Annis in Pori. Around the year 2000, Miikka Koivisto, the vocalist of another local band, was asked to join DisCo. to play second guitar and eventually sing. Being a fan of the group he agreed instantly. Around this time, a pop band also called Disco emerged. Our quartet added the word „Ensemble“ into their name to avoid awkward mix-ups.
After the release of Ghosttown Effect EP. (2001) the boys started to work with a D.I.Y. agent Juha Kyyrö, who eventually signed the band for his newly-founded Fullsteam Records. Mikko, Jussi and Miikka all moved to Helsinki to study. Helsinki-born Lasse Lindfors was found for the bass. Lasse had plenty of experience as he had played with numerous groups, and was a miraculously good fit.
In 2003, the debut album „Viper Ethics“ received rave reviews and gained Disco Ensemble a pole position amongst the indie/punk crowd. Splitting the time between studies and rock’n’roll became harder and harder as the band continued to play tons of club shows and festivals in Finland and embarked on their first European tour.
The sophomore album First Aid Kit (2005) gave D.E. an even bigger push up the ladder. The record hit the 9th spot in the official Finnish album chart and the foursome were now considered to be the most popular alternative rock act in Finland. Boasted to become the next big Finnish rock export, D.E. stepped on the main stages of the biggest festivals on their home turf, earned slots in Roskilde, Hultsfred, Rock am Ring/Park and Glastonbury, to name but a few, and toured clubs relentlessly around Europe and the UK. The buzz around the band led to an international record deal with Vertigo/Universal, who released „First Aid Kit“ in over 20 countries. The guys suddenly noticed that a vague dream had become reality and a dear hobby had turned into full-day mayhem.
In the spring of 2008 D.E. released their third full-length album titled „Magic Recoveries“. Produced by Pelle Gunnerfeldt (The Hives, Refused), the record showed the band flourishing, stretching their abilities as song writers and performers. The band’s fourth album „The Island of Disco Ensemble“ (2010) escapes categorization and saw the band pushing forward with all their unique elements still intact. The album was more consistent and accessible but at the same time more uncompromising and unique than their previous records, and the band continued to win over new audiences around the world.
In 2012 Disco Ensemble releasead their fifth studio album titled „Warriors“, produced by Jukka Immonen (Sunrise Avenue, Jenni Vartiainen). The first single, the epic „Second Soul“ was an instant hit within the fans and radio stations and took the band to yet another level musically. „Warriors“ was released on September 21st, 2012 in cooperation between Fullsteam Records and Sony Music Finland.
Disco Ensemble´s sixth album, „Afterlife“, will be released January 27th 2017 world wide. First single „Fight Forever“ has been a hit already at the Finnish radiostations. Band will start touring in February – until the end of the year. After four years break from recording new stuff, they are back stronger than ever!
Dear Mr / Ms Journalist!
If you plan to ask Disco Ensemble a question about the origin of their admittedly strange name, you will find the answer from the text above. Further enquiries about the subject will be met with frustrating sighs and a blunt, possibly totally made up answer. Thank you.


Miikka Koivisto – Vocals
Jussi Ylikoski – Guitar
Mikko Hakila – Drums
Lasse Lindfors- Bass